President Ramaphosa received Heads of Mission-Designate on 09 April 2024 at the Sefako Magatho Presidential Guest House, where letters of credence were accepted from 15 countries.

Letters of Credence are official diplomatic documents presented to the President by Heads of Mission-designate who have been nominated by their respective governments to serve as ambassadors / High Commissioners to South Africa.

The following countries will serve in South Africa with the aim of ensuring that bilateral relations with all partners are further strengthened through meaningful dialogue.

  • Mr. Emmanuel Hategeka of the Republic of Rwanda
  • Mr. Mirko Manzoni of the Swiss Confederation
  • Mrs. Rus Shazila Binti Osman of the Federation of Malaysia
  • Mr. Mubarak Bin Nasser Mubarak Al-Khalifa of the State of Qatar
  • Mr. Alberto Vecchi of the Republic of Italy
  • Mr. James Gilawa Bwana of the United Republic of Tanzania
  • Mr. Salem Rashed Alshebli of the State of Kuwait
  • Mr. Igor G. Bely of the Republic of Belarus
  • Ms. Erika Ylonka Álvarez Rodríguez of the Dominican Republic
  • Mr. Dong-hang Yang of the Republic of Korea
  • Ms. Jane Wairimu Ndurumo of the Republic of Kenya
  • Mr. Philip Richard Hewitt of New Zealand
  • Mr. Mansour Shakib Mehr of the Islamic Republic of Iran
  • Ms. Fidelia Graand-Galon of the Republic of Suriname
  • Mr. Mohamed Issak Ibrahim of the Federal Republic of Somalia

President Ramaphosa closed by saying, “Good luck with your tour of duty and may our countries always maintain friendly relations.”

by Marion Kate